Requesting copies of law enforcement reports
Copies of police reports for the Salida police Department and the Chaffee County Sheriff’s Office may be obtained from the Records Office approximately three to five days after the date of occurrence. There is a fee of $5.00 for the first five pages then $1.00 per page after that. The release of all law enforcement paperwork is regulated by law, so certain reports and/or attachments may not be released to the public. A signed request form is required. Contact our office at 719-539-2814 to obtain the request form or find out more about police reports.
Through the Records Office you may obtain a criminal histories of offenders compiled by the Salida Police Department and/or the Chaffee County Sheriff’s Office. These records will not include cases that were handled by the Buena Vista Police Department or the Colorado State Patrol, and will not include criminal records from other counties or other states. Juvenile arrest records are regulated by law and may not be released. A written request form is required, as well as a fee of $5.00. We will need the subject’s name and date of birth. To get a statewide criminal history, contact the Colorado Bureau of Investigation at 303-239-4680 or you can use their online records check by clicking here.
Individuals may obtain driving records from the Colorado Motor Vehicle Department at 306B North 16th Street, Canon City. Requests must include the full name, date of birth, and driver license number. The fee for a non-certified driving record is $2.20; for a certified copy, the fee is $2.70. A driving record can also be obtained by mail for the same fee by writing to:
Department of Revenue
Division of Motor Vehicles
Driver Control Section
Denver, CO 80261-0016