Concealed Handgun Permits
Under Colorado Revised Statute 18-12-201, county sheriffs in Colorado are authorized to issue written concealed handgun permits (CHP) to county residents who meet certain statutory requirements.
The purpose of the application process is to protect the safety of both the public and the permit holder by reasonably insuring that the permit holder is capable, both mentally and physically, of proper conduct while handling a firearm; to provide a reasonable assurance that a person so permitted is knowledgeable in the use of firearms and is informed of the statutory restrictions on such use; and to prevent the issuing of permits to persons who are prohibited by law to possess such weapons.
Applications may be obtained from the Records and Administration Office, 641 West 3rd Street, between 9am and 4pm Mon-Thurs. Alternatively, you may download an application and print it. Below are the links:
The application packet is to be read thoroughly, printed or typed and completed in full. Upon completion, the application and the required fees are to be delivered to the Chaffee County Sheriff’s Office during business hours for processing. Prior to processing, you will need to schedule an appointment for fingerprints. Beginning August 16, 2014 these are done every Saturday, 9am to noon; 3pm to 6pm; and 7pm to 9pm. You may call 719-539-2814 with any questions and to schedule your fingerprint appointment.
Applicants must meet the following criteria:
- Must be 21 years of age or older and a resident of Chaffee County, with a Colorado driver license, Colorado Identification Card, or other valid proof of identity, age, and residency.
- Must successfully complete a background investigation that includes, but is not limited to, information obtained from the National Crime Information Center, Colorado Crime Information Center, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Colorado Bureau of Investigation, driving records, and other law enforcement agencies.
In addition, the applicant must have proof of completion of a firearm safety training course or class. The applicant must submit with the application the original certificate or a photocopy of the certificate with the instructors original signature, affidavit, or other document from the instructor, school, club, business, organization, or group that conducted or taught the course or class, attesting to the successful completion of the training. All documentation must have been obtained within the 10 years preceding submittal of the application. It may be in the following forms:
- Certificate from an NRA certified instructor.
- Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions.
- Current certified firearms instructor.
- Current military orders or proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States armed forces reflecting handgun qualifications.
- A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado law enforcement agency reflecting handgun qualifications.
- Certificate of completion from any firearms safety class or course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college or university, or private firearms training facility.
Permit Fee and Expiration Period
Two separate fees must accompany the application. One is an application fee of $100 which is applied to the Sheriff’s Office administrative and background investigation costs; and a separate fee of $52.50 required by Colorado Bureau of Investigation to process fingerprints. The application fee shall be payable to the Chaffee County Sheriff’s Office. The CBI fee must be paid by certified check or money order made payable to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. These fees are non-refundable in the event the permit is not issued.
This permit is valid for five (5) years from the date of issuance. The Sheriff’s Office will coordinate permit renewals, but it is the responsibility of the permit holder to make sure the permit is renewed within 120 days of the expiration date. A renewal fee of $50.00 payable to Chaffee County Sheriff’s Office (cash, check, or money order) and an additional fee payable to Colorado Bureau of Investigation (cashier’s check or money order only) will be assessed at the time the permit is renewed. If the permit is not renewed within 120 days, then the permit process must start over.
The Chaffee County Sheriff will deny concealed handgun permits to applicants who are likely to abuse such privilege and be a danger to themselves or others because, by their present or past conduct, they demonstrated an unfitness to be entrusted with such a privilege. Therefore, a permit will be routinely denied to a person who:
- Is ineligible to possess a firearm under federal law.
- Has been convicted of perjury in the application process.
- Is subject of certain kinds of protection orders.
- Whose criminal record indicates convictions or charges involving felonies, misdemeanors, or ordinance violations related to physical violence.
- At the time of application, is under indictment for, or charged with any felony, misdemeanor, or ordinance violation, with the exception of minor traffic offenses.
- Chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages
- Is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance as defined by federal law [This statutory provision prevents issuing a concealed handgun permit to marijuana users, even registered medical marijuana users. WPP]
- In the opinion of the sheriff or local chief of police, the character, record and reputation of the applicant is such that it could constitute a hazard or risk to the safety and general welfare of the public.
The sheriff may revoke the concealed handgun permit at any time when the permit holder no longer meets the criteria for issuance or falls into a category for which the permit would not have been issued initially. Any peace officer in the State of Colorado may suspend and confiscate a concealed handgun permit issued by the Sheriff’s Office for delivery to the sheriff when the peace officer has reasonable suspicion that the permit holder falls into a category for which the permit would not have been issued initially. The revocation of the permit may be appealed directly to the sheriff if the permit holder believes the permit was unfairly revoked and/or confiscated.